Burn, Rewrite, Reread Tag | Books at Dawn

Burn,-Rewrite,-Reread

Hey guys!

I was tagged by Rae over at Bookmark Chronicles to do the Burn, Rewrite, Reread Tag. This looked like such a fun tag to do which may put me in some hot waters if a lot of my favorite books show up! So thank you Rae for all this wonderful torture I’m sure I am about to go through!

Rules:
  • Randomly choose 3 books. (Use the ‘random’ option on your Goodreads read shelf. Thanks for that tip, it makes this so much easier)
  • For each group, decide which book to burn, which one to rewrite, and which to reread. (A lot like Kiss, Marry, Kill.)
  • Repeat until you completed three rounds (or five) 🙂

Okay, let’s do this!


ROUND 1

BURN: The Iron Trial by Holly Black/Cassandra Clare. I just did not like this book. In my opinion it is a horrible middle grade.

REWRITE: The Legacy of Kings by Eleanor Herman. Don’t get me wrong, I liked this book a lot. But I think I would rewrite the first quarter of it and lay off the heavy romance nonsense that was there.

REREAD: Steelheart by Brandon Sanderson. This book was great! Everything I could have wanted in a book with Superheroes and Super Villains.


ROUND 2

BURN: Lying Out Loud by Kody Keplinger. No shock there. This book was boring as hell!

REWRITE: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas. I would rewrite the last quarter of this book. This three quarters are fantastic! But that last part when they’re in the cave and she is paraded around as a slave just made me so uncomfortable….

REREAD: Soulless by Gail Carriger. This was my first ever steampunk paranormal fantasy I’ve read and I loved it. It is well written and smart, and I loved all the characters too!


ROUND 3

BURN: Wayward Vol. 1 by Jim Zub. Sorry Wayward… I loved your story and your art, but up against these two, you’re going to lose.

REWRITE: Saga Vol. 1 by Brian k. Vaughan. I don’t know what part of this graphic novel I would attempt to rewrite because it was so freaking good, but I’m sure there is something I can add to it!

REREAD: The Five Stages of Andrew Brawley by Shaun David Hutchinson. This novel was brilliant and heart breaking. I would read it a thousand times over!


ROUND 4

I should have stopped at Round 3… this one is going to break my soul!

BURN: Saga Vol. 2 by Brian K. Vaughan. I’m so sorry Saga… you got the shit end of the stick this round! Nothing personal… keep on being your amazing self!

REWRITE: Gathering Darkness by Morgan Rhodes. This is breaking my soul right now. This is one of my favorites from the Falling Kingdoms series and it’s absolute perfection. SO the only thing I will rewrite is the ending where a certain character I loved gets back stabbed… you know who Morgan!

REREAD: Golden Son by Pierce Brown. I literally just finished this book a couple days ago and man I was blown away! That ending needed to be read over and over again. Hot damn!


ROUND 5

BURN: Paper Towns by John Green. I hold no allegiances to Mr. Green, and although this is a good book, I might just have to burn it this round. Oops!

REWRITE: Rat Queens Vol. 2 by Kurtis J. Wiebe. This graphic novel had a lot of chapters on character back story, and I loved it. But I might rewrite and throw some more action sequences into the mix!

REREAD: The Secret Heeder by Fleur Camacho. One of my favorite sequels from an indie author I’ve read so far! I loved the time traveling adventure they went on this time around and would love to read it again sometime!


Man that was a tough tag to do, but oh so much fun! I hope you enjoyed my answers and not get offended by any of them. Let me know if you would have done anything differently, I’d love to know!

I TAG YOU

Joey @ Thoughts and Afterthoughts

Jenna @ Reading with Jenna

Aentee @ Read at Midnight

Laashan & Trang @ Bookidote

Deanna @ A Novel Glimpse

Joan @ Fiddler Blue

Ashley @ Socially Awkward Bookworm

Lois @ My Midnight Musing

Amy @ Book Enthral

Aimal @ Bookshelves and Paperbacks

JM @ Book Freak Revelations

Until next time,

Signature

Published by

BooksatDawn

Jesse Nicholas lives in Toronto, Canada. He is an aspiring writer and one day wishes to have a novel published. Along with writing, Jesse enjoys music, travel, trashy TV, and is an avid reader of anything in the Young Adult and Fantasy/Sci-Fi genres. He is currently posts reviews on the novels he reads on his blog, and spends hours upon hours coming up with ideas for a future stories.

34 thoughts on “Burn, Rewrite, Reread Tag | Books at Dawn”

  1. Thank you so much for tagging me! This tag looks like so much fun! 😀
    I tried reading Paper Towns and just could not do it. It lost my interest so quick. I would definitely burn that one too lol.
    Still dying to read Steelheart! Hopefully I can read it soon! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What a fun tag! Thanks for tagging me. I can’t wait to do it. You’re not the first person to say LOL was boring. I really liked The DUFF, so that makes me sad. 😦 I would probably burn Paper Towns, too. I just didn’t love the ending.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jesse! You always tag me in the coolest tags, so thank you. T_T I totally agree with you on rewriting some of ACOTAR’s later happenings. The entire Rhys’s slave thing made me pretty uncomfortable, and I’m sure the feelings are just going to be elevated in the second book. I’ll read it anyway, just because Tamlin *drools*

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Lmao I would totally be burning Paper Towns, too. Not Green’s best work.
    I love how you would rewrite the silly romance in Legacy of Kings. XD I find that hilarious haha. I really need to read Golden Sun (or Red Rising first)!! All I’ve heard are great things so I MUST PICK IT UP.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Being the indecisive person I am this tag is bound to be challenging and hilarious. I think the hardest part would be choosing between the rewrite or burn. The Red Rising Trilogy is automatic re-read though, if you want to put yourself through the emotional trauma again haha. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment