Dim Sum Book Tag | Books at Dawn

Dim-Sum-Book-Tag

Image Credits to E. Zhang

Hey guys!

I was tagged by the lovely Jenna from Reading With Jenna & Joey from Thoughts and Afterthoughts. They are the brain children of this lovely tag that I’m sure is going to make me crave Dim Sum afterward. So I want to thank them and curse them all at the same time!

RULES:

Here are some rules to devour this tag:

  1. Thank the blogger who nominated you, linking back to their site
  2. Devour dim sum and answer the tag questions
  3. Tag five others to join your round table for some dim sum fun
  4. Food coma

DIM SUM BOOK TAG QUESTIONS:

TEA: A BOOK THAT STARTED OFF HOT BUT TURNED COLD QUICKLY

Cinder

Cinder by Marissa Meyers. I was quite excited going into this book. A sci-fi, futuristic Cinderella retelling? HELL YES. But as the story went on I was filling in the plot points before they happened and I figured out the ending midway through the book… so yeah. I still enjoyed it, but it turned cold pretty quickly.

 


 

CHIU CHOW DUMPLING: A BOOK THAT FEATURES ELEMENTS OF LAND AND SEA

Six of Crows

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo. This place not only takes place on many different lands, but also spends a great portion out at sea. Probably one of my most exciting reads this year!

 

 


RICE NOODLE ROLL: A FAVOURITE MULTI-LAYERED CHARACTER OF YOURS (EG. TRAITS? SKILLS? MORALLY AMBIGUOUS?)

Falling Kingdoms

Magnus Damora from Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes. He is so morally ambiguous it’s hard to tell what he is thinking. He tries to do the good thing, but when your dad is the King of Blood, it’s kind of hard to do. His character keeps evolving as each book comes out so I can’t see what he has to struggle with next!

 


SHRIMP DUMPLING: A BOOK WITH A TRANSPARENT BLURB THAT GIVES THE STORY AWAY

My Heart and Other Black Holes

My Heart and Other Black Holes by Jasmine Warga. Don’t get me wrong. This book was great! I gave it 4 stars for story and content, but there really wasn’t much more to it then what the synopsis says. There was no big reveal or some big twist at the end…

 


STEAMED BBQ PORK BUNS: A BOOK THAT IS FLUFFY ON THE OUTSIDE BUT PACKS A PUNCH OF FLAVOUR (EG. MESSAGE? DEPTH? CONTROVERSY?)

Delicate

Delicate by C.K. Kelly Martin. With a fluffy title like delicate, this book sure did pack a punch with really deep topics like STI’s, relationship abuse, and a very nasty break up. Definitely learned a lot after reading this one. Very pleased with it!

 


CHICKEN FEET: A BOOK WITH DIVIDED OPINIONS

Queen of ShadowsQueen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas. This book drew a line in the sand between the readers who loved books 1 & 2, and those that fell in love with book 3. You wither hated this one or loved it. Old ties were cut and new relationships were formed. I for one absolutely loved this one. The direction the story is going, is where it should have started from in book 1. But hey… I’m not the author!


 

LOTUS-WRAPPED STICKY RICE: A BOOK YOU’VE RECEIVED/GIVEN THAT WAS NICELY PACKAGED

HP Philosopher's Stone

Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J.K. Rowling. As I have never read this series before, my friends decided to gift the first book to me in this gorgeous cover! I regret not reading it sooner as I was missing out on the best series ever written!

And now I own the whole set and loving every minute reading them!


EGG CUSTARD TART: A BOOK THAT USES SIMPLE INGREDIENTS AND CLICHES BUT EXECUTES IT PERFECTLY

The Young Elites

The Young Elites by Marie Lu. This is a classic example of YA cliches in the form of a “special girl” with “unique gifts” that can “be the only one to save the day.” BUT don’t be fooled into thinking this book sucks, BECAUSE this “special girl” is actually pretty deep and morally ambiguous. Is she good or is she evil?

 


MANGO PUDDING WITH EVAPORATED MILK: ANY BOOK RECOMMENDATION + BEVERAGE/SNACK THAT’S A WINNING COMBINATION

Simon Vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda

Simon Vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli. This book + OREOS. If you’ve read it then you would totally understand why these two go hand in hand.

So what are you waiting for? Get the book, and a box of oreos and come thank me later!

 


FRIED SESAME BALLS: A BOOK COVER WITH EMBOSSED TEXT/DESIGN YOU JUST LOVE TO RUN YOUR FINGERS OVER

The Grisha Trilogy by Leigh Bardugo. I could run my fingers over the embossed covers all day if I had time to spare. Honestly I would!


DIM SUM STEAM CART: THE TYPE OF CARRYING BAG YOU USE TO BRING BOOKS AROUND

My Book Bag

This is my book bag! Ain’t it cute?


Well I hope you liked my Dim Sum inspired bookish answers. Are you as hungry as I am? Who wants to go for Dim Sum? Anyone? Fine… table for one please.

Until next time,

Signature

I TAG YOU:

Laashan & Trang @ Bookidote

Angie @ Love Thy Shelf

Aria @ Aria Stuck In Wonderland

Flo @ Flowless Books

Dee @ The Bookish Khaleesi

Sara @ Freadom Library

** Don’t feel obligated to do the tag if you don’t want to! **

Published by

BooksatDawn

Jesse Nicholas lives in Toronto, Canada. He is an aspiring writer and one day wishes to have a novel published. Along with writing, Jesse enjoys music, travel, trashy TV, and is an avid reader of anything in the Young Adult and Fantasy/Sci-Fi genres. He is currently posts reviews on the novels he reads on his blog, and spends hours upon hours coming up with ideas for a future stories.

20 thoughts on “Dim Sum Book Tag | Books at Dawn”

  1. OMG I want your book bag! It’s so cute ❤ I love tote bags so much haha. And I am so glad that you have finally discovered and fallen in love with the magical world of Harry Potter! Those covers are the best ones in my opinion (so sad that I decided to buy them in paperback instead of hardback… WHAT WAS I EVEN THINKING?). I know the late-to-the-party feels, since I just started Percy Jackson this week and I'm angry at myself for not reading them sooner!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I feel the same way about Cinder. I read it a week ago or so and just didn’t feel super connected to the characters and it was also predictable (I mean it’s a retelling so of course it it predictable, but I was still disappointed). Anyway, by the end though I felt like I wanted to know what happens next so I’ll probably continue with the series, especially because of all the hype surrounding Winter.

    Liked by 2 people

      1. I think starting with the prequel novellas was super beneficial for me because I really like throne of glass. Without the backstory though I’d probably have a different opinion. I’ll def continue with the Lunar Chronicles though. Omg 800 pages! What!?! I’m dead too now. 💀

        Liked by 1 person

      2. They were actually really great. The first one was fantastic.
        And the third and fourth were like, omg I can’t even my poor little heart. Also I didn’t realize it was a book with four novellas in it, lol, so I had no idea that’s what I was getting into. I didn’t read the blurb. Haha!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment