Reader Confessions Book Tag

Reader.png

Hey guys!

I was tagged by the lovely Ashley over at Socially Awkward Bookworm to do the Reader Confessions Book Tag. Thanks so much for tagging me to spill all of my secrets Ashley, I really appreciate that! Haha. Anywho, take this time to go give Ashley a follow, she has an amazing blog you won’t want to miss.


QUESTIONS:

Have you ever damaged a book? 

Not intentionally… I think. Books have gotten a bit roughed up in my bag on my commute to work. But I mean that’s not really my fault is it? I am currently using an ARC of this trashy book I read recently as a coaster. That was definitely intentional.

Have you ever damaged a borrowed book?

I don’t like borrowing books for this reason. I feel like it takes away from my reading experience when I have to be that much more careful with other peoples books. I have thought about borrowing from the library recently. Their books seem to be a bit beat up anyway!

How long does it take you to read a book? 

Depends on the book. If I really like it, then 2-3 days is usually my reading time. Some books tend to take me 1-2 weeks to read though. So it all depends.

Books that you haven’t finished? 

I’m big on DNF’ing books that I’m just not enjoying. Some of the recent ones include:

 

Drag Teen by Jeffery Self
True Born by L.E. Sterling
Hunter by Mercedes Lackey

Drag Teen was just not holding my interest. The characters were a bit annoying to me and I wasn’t connecting with them at all. True Born’s story was just all over the place. My head was hurting from all the confusion and lack of supporting information. Hunter was just horrendous. There was so much info dumping in the first 25% that I just could not get into the story itself.

Hyped popular books that you don’t like?

I’m not much for the hype train if I’m being honest. I tend to have wavering opinions on books that others seem to LOVE to death. Some of these include:

 

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard
Cinder by Marissa Meyer
Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

Where do I start with Red Queen? With the awful main protagonist? The predictability of it all? The try for a romance(s) that just didn’t work? Or the generic plot-line that has been done over and over again? Cinder was inherently bad. I just found it predictable and lack luster. Eleanor and Park was just plain boring in my opinion. There wasn’t anything likable about it what so ever.

Is there a book you wouldn’t tell anyone you were reading?

I don’t think I have ever been embarrassed about reading a book before. I mean come on, I’ve read and loved the Pretty Little Liars books. at least the first 8! HAHA

How many books do you own? 

Good question… let me go count. Be right back.

BACK!

Physically I own 252 books. 125 Hardcovers, 94 Paperbacks, and 33 ARCs. This does not include all of my ebooks. That would be too many to count.

Are you a fast reader or a slow reader? 

I would probably say I’m a slow reader. Well I’m faster then the average person… but slow in terms of other bloggers.

Do you like to buddy read?

I’ve tried… and I sucked at it. The #JSquad (Jenna, Joey and Jesse (me)) buddy read Six of Crows last year. Jenna was being held back by me and Joey… so yeah, I don’t think it was fun for her. Would I buddy read again? Maybe… I’m not sure.

Do you read better in your head or out loud? 

Do people actually read out loud on a regular basis? I hate the sound of my reading voice, so I’m going to have to say no. Reading in my head is way better.

If you were only allowed to own one book what one and why? 

Well that’s a rude question. Well I would have to say any one of the Falling Kingdoms books. Probably Gathering Darkness if I really had to choose!


I TAG YOU

 Deanna | Flo | Lauren | Maria Lois

AND EVERYONE ELSE!

Until next time,

Sig 3

 

TWITTER | GOOD READS | INSTAGRAM | BLOG LOVIN’

Published by

BooksatDawn

Jesse Nicholas lives in Toronto, Canada. He is an aspiring writer and one day wishes to have a novel published. Along with writing, Jesse enjoys music, travel, trashy TV, and is an avid reader of anything in the Young Adult and Fantasy/Sci-Fi genres. He is currently posts reviews on the novels he reads on his blog, and spends hours upon hours coming up with ideas for a future stories.

21 thoughts on “Reader Confessions Book Tag”

  1. I only read out loud when I need to work on my pronunciation. I take a book I have already read and pace in my room while focusing on words. I don’t think it works well when you’re trying to get immersed in a story, though! I know I read in my head when it’s all about enjoying a book!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you for the tag!! There are so many hyped books that I really don’t like, so that is going to be an interesting one! I used to slide on books as a kid on the carpet because it was fun. I ruined quite a lot of my dads books… but that was before I became a book worm and now it’s pretty cringe worthy!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Red Queen was my first YA fantasy read, so of course I fell in love with it. However, the more fantasy I read, the more noticeable its flaws become… Glass Sword was a disappointment, to say the least. Mare doesn’t develop at all, and although I’m excited to see if Aveyard redeems the story in King’s Cage, I have a feeling that this may not happen.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. JENNA READS SO FAST. I’ve had a few buddy reads with her and yes, she’s always held back by me hahaha. LOL good on you for admitting the PLL books! Are they good? I have the first 5 in a box set but I’m too scared lol. Awesome post Jesse, thanks for sharing!

    Like

  5. It was nice getting to know you! I love this book tag. I don’t know if I would be a good buddy reader, but I would like to try. It isn’t that I am slow or fast, its that I get consumed and don’t want to put it down to wait until everyone else is ready to move on! And I DO read out loud sometimes, to my dogs. I am a weirdo, I know!

    Like

Leave a comment