#Review | Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes

Falling Kingdoms.jpg
Falling KingdomsFalling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes (Falling Kingdoms #1)
Published by Razorbill on December 11th 2012
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy
Pages: 412
Format: Hardcover

In the three kingdoms of Mytica, magic has long been forgotten. And while hard-won peace has reigned for centuries, a deadly unrest now simmers below the surface.

As the rulers of each kingdom grapple for power, the lives of their subjects are brutally transformed… and four key players, royals and rebels alike, find their fates forever intertwined. Cleo, Jonas, Lucia, and Magnus are caught in a dizzying world of treacherous betrayals, shocking murders, secret alliances, and even unforeseen love.

The only outcome that’s certain is that kingdoms will fall. Who will emerge triumphant when all they know has collapsed?

It’s the eve of war…. Choose your side.

Princess: Raised in pampered luxury, Cleo must now embark on a rough and treacherous journey into enemy territory in search of magic long thought extinct.

Rebel: Jonas, enraged at injustice, lashes out against the forces of oppression that have kept his country cruelly impoverished. To his shock, he finds himself the leader of a people’s revolution centuries in the making.

Sorceress: Lucia, adopted at birth into the royal family, discovers the truth about her past—and the supernatural legacy she is destined to wield.

Heir: Bred for aggression and trained to conquer, firstborn son Magnus begins to realize that the heart can be more lethal than the sword…


The Review


FALLING KINGDOMS by Morgan Rhodes is the first book in a fantasy series. It follows a wide cast of characters from three different kingdoms in conflict with each other. One event will spark a war, ignite revenge, and a journey that will never be forgotten.

I love books that showcase not only a wide variety of characters but a book that has multiple POV’s. And boy does FALLING KINGDOMS not disappoint on this one. The story follows the 4 main characters Cleo, Magnus, Lucia, and Jonas as the story of conflict, love, heartbreak, war, and magic unfolds.

Cleo is the Princess of Auranos, the golden land that prospers. She goes through major character growth from the beginning to the end. She starts off as timid and somewhat spoiled, not taking her princess duties seriously as she feels she shouldn’t have to. Being the younger princess, she is not first in line to the throne. But as the story progresses we see her world falling to pieces right before her eyes. She must take a magical journey to try and save her kingdom from peril.

Magnus and Lucia are the brother and sister duo of Limeros, the frozen land of religion and strict rules. Magnus is the prince heir to the throne while Lucia is the princess with mysterious past and prophesied future. Magnus must remain strong and cold when he is faced with his father’s savage plan for conquering all of Mytica while Lucia has internal battles with her new destiny and magic. They must stick together through it all if they want to survive.

Jonas the poor villager from Paelsia, the barren wasteland that lies between Limeros and Auranos. After the tragic events at the beginning of the book, he takes it upon himself to begin a revolution to bring forth change and destruction to the powers that oppress his land and people. But did he align himself with the right King, or did he dig himself an even bigger grave?

The vast land of Mytica is rich in history and magical beginnings. FALLING KINGDOMS brings forth myths and legends that tie the whole story onto an even bigger scale. There is so much more to explore and learn. After reading the book for the fifth time, more things have become clearer. Things I may have missed the first couple times that just add to the story as a whole.

The story lines are riveting and are much bigger than the book itself. The story will leave you on the edge with all the twists and turns it takes. It will leave you heartbroken because no one is safe. And it will leave you feeling powerful after the final battle at the end. But whose side will you take?

A book can have as many POV’s as it wants, but it has to be well written. And Morgan Rhodes knows how to do exactly that. Her writing style is humorous, heart wrenching, cheerful, and dark depending on the character whose view we are reading. Never do the POV’s get muddled or confusing. Everyone has a clear voice and tone that sets up their own individual personalities.

She sets up the world with vivid descriptions and vast details that set your imagination running wild. There is never any confusion when it comes to the world, story, or characters. Because of this, FALLING KINGDOMS prospers in every way!

FALLING KINGDOMS by Morgan Rhodes was a fantastic start to a high fantasy series that I’m sure is going to continue to break boundaries and go on to great things! So if you’ve read it, let me know what you thought in the comments below.

And if you haven’t, let me know so I can throw the book at your head and make you read it. (I’m only half kidding… I might actually throw the book at your head).

Until next time,

Jesse Nicholas Sig



Morgan RhodesMorgan Rhodes lives in Ontario, Canada. As a child, she always wanted to be a princess — the kind that knows how to wield a sharp sword to help save both kingdoms and princes from fire-breathing dragons and dark wizards. Instead, she became a writer, which is just as good and much less dangerous. Along with writing, Morgan enjoys photography, travel, reality TV, and is an extremely picky, yet voracious reader of all kinds of books. Under another pen name, she’s a national bestselling author of many paranormal novels. Falling Kingdoms is her first high fantasy.


Published by


Jesse Nicholas lives in Toronto, Canada. He is an aspiring writer and one day wishes to have a novel published. Along with writing, Jesse enjoys music, travel, trashy TV, and is an avid reader of anything in the Young Adult and Fantasy/Sci-Fi genres. He is currently posts reviews on the novels he reads on his blog, and spends hours upon hours coming up with ideas for a future stories.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s